Love Served Daily

Cooking up Smiles..Across the Miles

Fresh Fruit Eggless Vanilla Cake

30 Comments

IMG_3971

Hope everyone is doing great. We recently celebrated my husband’s birthday and I made this fresh fruit cake for him. This is one of his favorites kind of cakes and I really wanted to try making it myself after my first try at the frosted cake that I made for my daughter – the eggless black forest cake. It turned out pretty good in spite of no eggs. I have pretty much based it off my eggless chocolate cake recipe and you can hardly miss the eggs. It was soft and moist. And the fresh fruits added a lot of beauty and flavor. I will definitely be making this again. πŸ™‚

IMG_3972

Here is how I made this..

Ingredients:

For the cake:

All purpose flour – 2 cups

Sugar – 1 cup

Baking Soda – 3/4 tsp

Baking Powder – 1 tsp

Milk – 1 cup

Butter or oil – 1/2 cup

Vanilla Extract – 1 tsp

Vinegar – 1.5 tsp

For the Frosting:

Heavy Whipping cream – 2 cups

Cut mixed fruit of your choice – for filling and decorating – I have used kiwi, strawberries, cherries and some pineapple.

Sugar syrup – 1/2 cup

Coarsely Chopped almonds – 1/2 cup

Method:

  1. Lets bake the vanilla cake first because it needs to cool down completely before you start frosting it. Preheat your oven to 350 F.
  2. Sift the flour, baking soda and baking powder and keep aside.
  3. Take the milk and add vinegar to it to form some butter milk. If you have butter milk available, you can just use that.
  4. Now in a mixing bowl cream together the butter and sugar and add in the vanilla extract. Finally mix in the milk and flour mix to the butter little at a time, making sure not to over mix.
  5. Grease an 8 inch round cake tin and bake this mixture in a preheated oven for 30 minutes, or till a toothpick or knife inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean.
  6. Now let this cake cool completely and we will start working on the frosting in the meanwhile.
  7. Take the chilled whipping cream and beat it for at least 3 – 5 minutes till it has doubled in volume. Be careful not to over mix or you will end up with butter. Stop when you see stiff peaks. Keep in the fridge to chill until ready to use. I have not added any sugar to the frosting so as to enjoy the natural sweetness of fresh fruits here.
  8. Once the cake has cooled down, we can start frosting it. Cut the cake into two slices (or three layers, if you like)
  9. Now add some sugar syrup on the first layer. This is done to keep the cake moist and spread a layer of whipped cream and top with finely chopped fruits of your choice.
  10. Cover this with the other cake layer, spread some sugar syrup and cover the whole cake with whipped cream, making sure to smooth out the edges in the process. Now let the cake rest in the fridge for another 15 minutes.
  11. Finally, smooth out all the cream to ensure the cake is completely covered. Now decorate the cake with your choice of fresh fruits as you like. I have altered between a layer of kiwi and strawberry slices and also placed some cherries on the side and one in the center. Use your imagination and preference.
  12. Now take the coarsely chopped almonds and cover the sides of the cake. Add some sprinkles if you like.
  13. Your beautiful cake is ready. Keep it in the fridge, until ready to serve.

IMG_3973

So that was my second attempt to frost a cake. I will continue to improve and try some new ones in the process. I am so glad you have stopped by.

See you again soon.

Love,

Ritu.

Author: Love Served Daily

A few years ago I would have laughed at the prospect of writing a food blog. Expecting someone to guide you on a recipe whose own cooking experience before her marriage has been next to nil is quite unbelievable. A foodie husband and his love for socializing ensured I do get a lot of cooking practice. And when I finally decided to be a SAHM, it gave me an opportunity to enhance my culinary skills. A lot of it was inspired from a number of food groups on Facebook and some very talented people I met there. So thanks to all my family and friends who constantly motivated me to work on a blog, here it is. So come, join me on this delightful journey, where I promise to serve you Love daily, well almost.

30 thoughts on “Fresh Fruit Eggless Vanilla Cake

  1. Awesome! I have always wanted an adaptation of my eggless chocolate cake. This is gorgeous🌺

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Delectable pictures! ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You are doing an awesome job with the frosting part , Ritu πŸ™‚ lovely cake

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Looking so lovely πŸ™‚ great job decorating the cake πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. so colorful…this combination’s always a winner, right?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. WoW! Gorgeous looking cake. Kiwi and strawberry are mouth watering fruits. Thank you so much for sharing this. I wish I can make this.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow cake looks colourful and fruitful…. yummm

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hey I have a 1 kg whipping cream… Should it be whipped altogether or I can beat it as per the requirement… It should be stored in fridge or freezer?? Please do help… Thanks in advance πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Pineapple & Cherry Cake..A simple Vanilla Cake transformed | Love Served Daily

Leave a Reply

