Love Served Daily

Cooking up Smiles..Across the Miles

Dates and Walnut Cake..A vegan recipe

46 Comments

IMG_3236

Hello everyone. I am so glad you have stopped by. I had two very special reasons to celebrate. And I made this delicious dates and walnut cake for the occasion.

One, it was my parent’s marriage anniversary and I wanted to make something special for them. This anniversary is extra special as we celebrated it together after a very long time. Their USA trip is ending soon and I would be so sad when they leave, especially my toddler. Nothing like spending time with your grand parents. It makes me miss my childhood days. Sigh. 😦

Second, my Facebook page just reached 500 Likes. Yay. I am so overwhelmed with all the love I have received in these 5 months. Thanks to each one of you for sticking out with me. I really appreciate that. 🙂

IMG_3233

And now back to the cake. I came across this recipe at Tickling Plates. I was a little skeptical to try it out as it was made with water and had no eggs. I really haven’t had very good luck with eggless cakes so wasn’t very sure about this one. But the final result was amazing. The cake was so moist I couldn’t believe it had no eggs or butter. Thank you Radhika for such a fabulous recipe and I will surely make it again.

Here is my adaption of her recipe

Ingredients:

All purpose flour – 2 cups (Feel free to use whole wheat flour if you like)

Pitted Dates – 1 cup, chopped finely

Walnuts – 1 cup, coarsely chopped

Oil – 1/2 cup

Water – 2 cups

Sugar – 3/4 cup

Cinnamon Powder – 1.5 tsp

Salt – 1/4 tsp

Baking Powder – 1 tsp

Baking Soda – 2 tsp

Method:

  1. Take a medium sized pan and add in the sugar, chopped dates, salt, cinnamon powder, oil and water. Mix everything well and turn on the stove. Let it come to a boil and then lower the flame and let it cook for about 30 minutes. You are looking for a gel like consistency. 
  2. In the meanwhile, take the flour, baking soda and baking powder and sieve it at least twice. Keep aside.
  3. Once, the dates mixture has cooked well, keep it aside and let it cool completely before adding the dry ingredients. It is very important for this dates mixture to cool down before using further in the recipe. It would take about 2 hours.
  4. Once the mixture has cooled completely, add the sieved flour mixture to this liquid little at a time, making sure everything is well blended. I just used my whisk here. Now add in the chopped walnuts to the cake mix.
  5. Preheat the oven to 350 F and grease your 9 inch baking tray and dust well with some flour.
  6. Pour in the cake mixture in your baking tray and bake for about 50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  7. Since all ovens work differently, check around 35 minutes.
  8. Let the cake cool down before cutting it. It tastes even better the next day, if you have any left overs. 🙂

IMG_3235

So that is how I made this delightful and super delicious cake.

IMG_3237

Do give this a try and let me know if you like it.

See you again soon.

Love,

Ritu. 🙂

Author: Love Served Daily

A few years ago I would have laughed at the prospect of writing a food blog. Expecting someone to guide you on a recipe whose own cooking experience before her marriage has been next to nil is quite unbelievable. A foodie husband and his love for socializing ensured I do get a lot of cooking practice. And when I finally decided to be a SAHM, it gave me an opportunity to enhance my culinary skills. A lot of it was inspired from a number of food groups on Facebook and some very talented people I met there. So thanks to all my family and friends who constantly motivated me to work on a blog, here it is. So come, join me on this delightful journey, where I promise to serve you Love daily, well almost.

46 thoughts on “Dates and Walnut Cake..A vegan recipe

  1. love your cake! Glad you had fun with your parents!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Wow. It looks fabulous 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Aaaaaaahh!! Amazing!! 😛😛😛

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Hi, hope you had a great time with your parents 🙂
    I have nominated you for Dragon’s Loyalty Award..all details are here ~ http://anartsyappetite.com/2015/08/13/two-awards-premio-dardos-and-dragons-loyalty-award/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ahhhh this looks scrumptious, I can just taste it now lol.😉

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love both dates and walnuts! This recipe is amazing! Thanks for bringing it to the contest:):) ATB!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Tried this today and it turned to be awesome! loved it thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Can we add eggs to this recipe.. Pls suggest the quantity and at what stage.. I really want to try this recipe of urs

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Hi… Looks delicious… Want to try.. One doubt… What do u mean by gel like consistency?

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Hi, can we use butter instead of oil

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Wat tray size should we use??

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Very nice i love it…

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Dates and walnut is such a delicious combination. The cake looks so moist and yummy. Got here from FB, loved your space, will be back for more.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. do you recommend any specific kind of oil?

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Thisis the mostamazing vegan cake recipe I’ve ever tried, thank you! Cake turned out to be sweet, moist and plainly delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

