Love Served Daily

Cooking up Smiles..Across the Miles

Slow Cooker Kheer..Indian Rice Pudding

28 Comments

IMG_3905

Hello guys. Hope everyone is enjoying the cooler weather and gearing up for the winters. I am of course looking forward to the first snow….but just the first one 😉 Hope the winters this year won’t be as bad as 2015.

Today I am making some delicious kheer or Indian rice pudding in my slow cooker. I am officially in love with my slow cooker. <3. From chicken curry, rajma, soups to this kheer, I have loved everything that I have tried in it. The joy of throwing everything together in the morning and getting a delicious meal in the evening is so rewarding. I plan to share more slow cooker recipes soon, but lets make some delicious and creamy rice pudding today.

IMG_3913

Rice pudding is made by slow cooking the rice and milk together till the rice is well cooked and the pudding is all creamy. The stove top method is quicker but it needs a lot of baby sitting where you need to continuously stir the milk and rice to prevent it from burning. The slow cooker method is my new favorite version. The slow cooking makes the pudding very rich and creamy, minus the effort. 🙂

Let’s make some delicious kheer now

Ingredients:

Basmati Rice – 1/2 cup

Whole Milk – 5 cups

Sugar – 1/2 cup

Cardamom Powder – 1/2 tsp

Chopped Almonds or pistachios – for garnish

Method:

  1. Spray the inside of your slow cooker with non sticky spray. It makes for easy clean up.
  2. Dump the rice, milk, sugar and cardamom powder in the slow cooker. Mix everything well and let it cook on low for 6 hours. You can stir it once or twice in between if you like, scrapping the sides in the process.
  3. After 6 hours, the rice would have cooked completely and the pudding will be nice and creamy. Check to make sure the consistency of the pudding is as per your preference.
  4. Garnish it with chopped almonds or pistachios and serve hot or cold. It tastes delicious either way.
  5. The pudding gets a little thicker when it cools down, just add some cold milk to adjust the consistency. Enjoy

IMG_3908

So that is how I made this super easy and super delicious rice pudding in my slow cooker and loved every bite of it. It had a beautiful pink color to it. I served this with some warm and soft gulab jamun and it was absolutely heavenly. 🙂

IMG_3911

Do give this a try and I am sure you will love it.

Thanks for stopping by.

Love,

Ritu. 🙂

Author: Love Served Daily

A few years ago I would have laughed at the prospect of writing a food blog. Expecting someone to guide you on a recipe whose own cooking experience before her marriage has been next to nil is quite unbelievable. A foodie husband and his love for socializing ensured I do get a lot of cooking practice. And when I finally decided to be a SAHM, it gave me an opportunity to enhance my culinary skills. A lot of it was inspired from a number of food groups on Facebook and some very talented people I met there. So thanks to all my family and friends who constantly motivated me to work on a blog, here it is. So come, join me on this delightful journey, where I promise to serve you Love daily, well almost.

28 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Kheer..Indian Rice Pudding

  1. Wow what a great idea! Love this

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a treat!! Loving it ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. i always loved rice puddong but never got this consistency and taste..i used to prepare it in one hour..but this one is delicious by looks and taste..thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love Kheer and you just made me crave for it more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow lovely teaming… just looks super luscious Ritu…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh Ritu…. I have a weakness for anything sweet and that looks like a double whammy with the gulab jamun 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Reblogged this on dawns-ad-lib.com® and commented:
    #recipe save & share

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

