Love Served Daily

Cooking up Smiles..Across the Miles

Mango Coconut Ladoo

31 Comments

IMG_3553

How is everyone doing..? My daughter turned three today. Still feels like yesterday we brought her home from the hospital. Its amazing how time flies. We celebrated her birthday today with all her favorite foods – black forest cake, pizza, noodles and of course jalebis. She was all smiles and that is all that mattered. Mommy its my birthday, I am a big girl now…That is all I heard all day today. I wish her all the happiness in the world. My little princess is growing up so fast. ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_3552

Mango is a family favorite fruit and we thoroughly enjoy its short lived presence in our part of the world. I make a lot of dishes with mango as both my husband and daughter loves it. These mango coconut ladoos were born as a result of an experiment and I am so glad I made them cause they turned out delicious. I have used ready made mango pulp here but fresh mangoes are best, when available.

If you are currently celebrating Ganesh Chaturthi and need a quick and delicious treat, this is for you.

IMG_3551

Recipe inspired from here

Lets make some yummy ladoos

Ingredients:

Desiccated orย dry coconut – 2 cups

Mango Pulp – 1 cup

Clarified Butter or Ghee – 1 tbsp.

Condensed Milk – 1/2 cup

Cardamom powder – 1 tsp

Dry coconut – 1/4 cup, for rolling

Method:

  1. Take a non stick pan and heat up the ghee. Now add the 2 cups of dry coconut and roast it well for 2 minutes, on low flame, stirring continuously. You can also use fresh grated coconut in this recipe. Just make sure to cook it till it gets fairly dry.
  2. Now addย mango pulp and mixย well. Keep stirring it until the mixture has dried up to a great extent.
  3. Its time to add in the condensed milk. Make sure the flame is low throughout. Keep cooking till the mixture dries up completely. It should not be sticky. To test if its done, take a small piece of the mixture and let it rest for a few minutes. Try to roll it into a ball. If you are able to form a ladoo, its ready. It took me about 10 minutes to reach that stage. You are looking for a dough like consistency.
  4. Finally, add in the cardamom powder, mix well and turn off the flame.
  5. Let the whole mixture cool down a bit to make sure you can make balls out of this.
  6. Make small round balls and roll it in dry coconut powder. That’s it. Your delicious mango coconut ladoos are ready.
IMG_3550
Do let me know if you try them out.
Thanks so much for stopping by.
Love,
Ritu. ๐Ÿ™‚
Author: Love Served Daily

A few years ago I would have laughed at the prospect of writing a food blog. Expecting someone to guide you on a recipe whose own cooking experience before her marriage has been next to nil is quite unbelievable. A foodie husband and his love for socializing ensured I do get a lot of cooking practice. And when I finally decided to be a SAHM, it gave me an opportunity to enhance my culinary skills. A lot of it was inspired from a number of food groups on Facebook and some very talented people I met there. So thanks to all my family and friends who constantly motivated me to work on a blog, here it is. So come, join me on this delightful journey, where I promise to serve you Love daily, well almost.

31 thoughts on “Mango Coconut Ladoo

  1. Happy birthday to your little one! The laddoos look amazing! It’s strange but I have been thinking of making this combo from quite some time , but I’ve run out of the frozen mango pulp ! We do have similar interests in food ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy bday to little princess! Wonderful recipe!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Delicious ladoos and do wish her a happy birthday fr meโ˜บ

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy B’day to your princess…. perfect treat for the occasion. ..

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hat’s off to you Rituji. The picture itself looks so beautiful then how would the ladoos won’t. I will definitely try this out. Can I add some milkmaid instead of condensed milk or can I use amul cream?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Happy Birthday to your three year old Ritu, many blessings to you and your family! Love these btw, ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. A very happy birthday to your lil angel. The ladoo’s look Delicious!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. 2 of my favorite ingredients Ritu. Wishing your little girl a Happy Birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Congratulations!!

    Dear, I have nominated you for Blogger Award: Brotherhood of the world, please paste the badge on your blog, details can be checked from here – https://esoofi.wordpress.com/2015/09/28/bloggers-award-brotherhood-of-the-world/

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Eggless Black Forest Cake..First attempt at a frosted cake | Love Served Daily

  11. Happy Birthday to your daughter ๐Ÿ™‚ Sounds like a great new recipe to try. What is ghee? is it oil?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

